Special Interest Groups

The Society operates Special Interest Groups (SIGs) to provide a focus for members on specialist topics:

 

Adelaide Protein Group

Chair: Erin Brazel
Research Centre for Infectious Diseases
Department of Molecular and Biomedical Sciences
University of Adelaide
ADELAIDE SA 5005
Tel: (08) 8313 8259
Email: erin.brazel@adelaide.edu.au
Web: www.apg.asn.au
Twitter: @AdelaideProtein
Latest published Adelaide Protein Group report (PDF)

Biochemical Education

Chair: Dr Nirma Samarawickrema
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Monash University
CLAYTON VIC 3800
Tel: (03) 9902 0295
Email: nirma.samarawickrema@monash.edu
Latest published Biochemical Education report (PDF)

 

 

 

Canberra Protein Group

Chair: Dr Simon Williams
Research School of Biology
Australian National University
ACTON ACT 2601
Tel: (02) 6125 7862
Email: simon.williams@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @CanberraPG
 

 

 

Cell Architecture

Chair: Associate Professor Thomas Fath
Dementia Research Centre
Department of Biomedical Sciences
Macquarie University
NORTH RYDE NSW 2109
Email: thomas.fath@mq.edu.au
Web: www.casig214033823.wordpress.com

 

 

 

Melbourne Protein Group

President: Dr Pierre Scotney
CSL Limited
Bio21 Institute
PARKVILLE VIC 3010
Tel: (03) 9389 2076
Email: pierre.scotney@csl.com.au
Web: www.mpg.org.au
Twitter: @MelbProtein
Latest published Melbourne Protein Group report (PDF)

Metabolism and Molecular Medicine Group

Chair: Dr Nigel Turner
School of Medical Science
University of New South Wales
KENSINGTON NSW 2052
Tel: (02) 9385 2548
Email: n.turner@unsw.edu.au
Latest published Metabolism and Molecular Medicine Group report (PDF)

 
 

Perth Protein Group

Chair: Associate Professor Joshua Mylne
School of Molecular Sciences
University of Western Australia, Crawley
PERTH WA 6009
Tel: (08) 6488 4415
Email: joshua.mylne@uwa.edu.au
Web: perthproteins.org
Twitter: @PerthProteins

 

Queensland Protein Group

Chair: Dr Brett Collins
Institute for Molecular Biosciences
University of Queensland
QLD 4072
Tel: (07) 3346 2043
Email: b.collins@imb.uq.edu.au
Web: qpg.org.au
Latest published Queensland Protein Group report (PDF)

 

RNA Network Australasia

Chair: Dr Archa Fox
Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research
NEDLANDS WA 6009
Tel: (08) 6151 0762
Email: archa.fox@perkins.uwa.edu.au
Web: www.asbmb.org.au/special-interest-groups/rna-network-australasia
Latest published RNA Network Australasia report (PDF)

 

Sydney Protein Group

President: A/Prof Liza Cubeddu
School of Science and Health
Western Sydney University
PENRITH NSW 2751
Tel: (02) 9685 9926
Email: l.cubeddu@westernsydney.edu.au
Web: www.asbmb.org.au/special-interest-groups/sydney-protein-group/
Twitter: @SydneyProtein
Latest published Sydney Protein Group report (PDF)

Yeast SIG

Chair: Dr Alan Munn
School of Medical Science
Griffith University Gold Coast
PMB 50, Gold Coast Mail Centre
SOUTHPORT QLD 9726
Tel: (07) 5678 0726
Email: a.munn@griffith.edu.au
Web: www.ayeastgroup.org
Latest published Yeast SIG report (PDF)