RNA Network Australasia

RNA_Network

 

 

 

 

The RNA Network of Australasia was founded in 2007 by Professor Thomas Preiss, who recognised the need to provide a forum for scientists doing RNA-related research within Australia and New Zealand.  The aim was to boost the profile of RNA research,  support students and early career scientists with local meetings and activities, and form a network of scientists with this common interest. 

Each year we support an award for an RNA-based presentation at the annual conference of the Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, as well as a number of state-based events. In 2014, we held the inaugural Joint Australia Japan RNA Meeting in Sydney, which was a culmination of 18 months organisation and was a fantastic success. We hope this will be the first of many such events.

Drop me an email any time – I welcome any thoughts or suggestions you might have for strategies to boost RNA research!

Archa Fox
President of the RnA Network of Australasia

 

Picture

 

Dr Archa Fox
Senior Lecturer
School of Human Sciences and Molecular Sciences
University of Western Australia

Email: archa.fox@perkins.uwa.edu.au
Web: Fox Lab

 

ozRNA State Contacts

South Australia
Dr Cameron Bracken
Head, Gene Regulation Networks Laboratory
Centre for Cancer Biology
Frome Road, Adelaide
Email: Cameron.Bracken@health.sa.gov.au
Web: Bracken Lab
Professor Greg Goodall
Head, Gene Regulation Section
Centre for Cancer Biology
Frome Road, Adelaide
Email: greg.goodall@imvs.sa.gov.au
Web: Goodall Lab 
Victoria
Dr Minni Anko
RNA Processing in Health and Disease Laboratory
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Monash University
Email: minni.anko@monash.edu
Web: Anko Lab
Professor Damian Purcell
Viral RNA and Vaccines
Peter Doherty Institute, Parkville
Email: dfjp@unimelb.edu.au
Web: Purcell Lab 
Australian Capital Territory
Professor Thomas Preiss
RNA Biology Group
John Curtin School of Medical Research
Australian National University
Email: Thomas.Preiss@anu.edu.au
Web: Preiss Lab
Associate Professor Anthony Millar
MicroRNA Mediated Gene Silencing in Plants
College of Medicine, Biology and Environment
Australian National University
Email: tony.millar@anu.edu.au
Web: Millar Lab 
New South Wales
Associate Professor Gyorgy Hutvagner
Small RNA Biology Group
Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology
Centre for Health Technologies
University of Technology Sydney
Email: Gyorgy.Hutvagner@uts.edu.au
Web: Hutvagner Lab
Dr Nham Tran
ncRNA Cancer Group
Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology
Centre for Health Technologies
University of Technology Sydney
Email: nham.tran@uts.edu.au
Web: Tran Lab 
Queensland
Dr Nigel McMillan
Epithelial Cancer Division
Diamantina Institute for Cancer, Immunology and Metabolic Medicine
University of Queensland
Email: n.mcmillan@uq.edu.au
Web: McMillan Lab 
New Zealand
Dr Chris Brown
Regulatory Genomics Group
Biochemistry Department, School of Medical Sciences
University of Otago
New Zealand
Email: chris.brown@otago.ac.nz
Web: Brown Lab